March Reading Recap

March 2023 Reading Recap

Goodbye March, hello April! March was a bit of a hectic month for me as I hosted my sister’s Bravo-themed Bachelorette party in NC. It was a lot of fun but stressful planning, so I’m amazed March has been my most productive reading month this year!

This month, I read 9 books, most of which were rereads!

Here’s what I read this month:

March 2023 Reads

A Murderous Relation, An Unexpected Peril, An Impossible Impostor, and A Sinister Revenge by Deanna Raybourn (Veronica Speedwell #5, #6, #7, #8)

A Murderous Relation
An Unexpected Peril by Deanna Raybourn
An Impossible Impostor

In March, we wrapped up the Veronica Speedwell readalong, which I hosted for a fabulous group of readers. We finished the last 4 books this month, including the newest book, A Sinister Revenge

I enjoyed rereading these newer books as they’re the ones I’ve read the fewest amount of times. I enjoyed reading An Impossible Impostor with the group for REASONS (IYKYK).

I cannot recommend the Veronica Speedwell series enough – it’s one of my all-time favorites! Perfect for fans of Miss Scarlet and the Duke and anyone who loves an excellent slowburn romance.

You can check out my reviews for all these books here:

Miss Moriarty, I Presume? and A Tempest at Sea by Sherry Thomas (Lady Sherlock #6 & #7)

Miss Moriarty, I Presume? by Sherry Thomas
A Tempest at Sea by Sherry Thomas

Did I read Miss Moriarty, I Presume? in December? Yes, I did. But this time, I needed to do it on audio as I adore Kate Reading’s narrator and needed a refresher before diving right into A Tempest at Sea. 

A Tempest at Sea was such a fun murder mystery with Charlotte and crew stuck on a boat – it felt like a classic mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie. I loved watching all the pieces come together with the big reveal in the mystery. I only wished we had a tad more Charlotte, but I understand why she wasn’t as prominent as in other books.

Check out my review for A Tempest at Sea by Sherry Thomas (and get an excerpt!).

Something Wild & Wonderful by Anita Kelly

Something Wild & Wonderful by Anita Kelly

Something Wild & Wonderful was a beautiful romance by Anita Kelly. I am not a hiker in any way, shape, or form, but this book made me want to hike the PCT. 

And the romance! Oh my god, this gave me all the feelings as I adored Ben and Alexei so much and loved watching their romantic journey. This is one of my favorite books this year, and Anita Kelly is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors as I adored their previous book Love & Other Disasters

Check out my review of Something Wild & Wonderful by Anita Kelly.

Capture the Sun by Jessie Mihalik (Starlight’s Shadow #3)

Capture the Sun by Jessie Mihalik

This book doesn’t release until late June, but I had to dive into this ARC as I was feeling some space adventures, and no one does romantic space adventures quite like Jessie Mihalik.

I’ve been waiting for Lexi and Nilo’s story since Hunt the Stars, and this book did not disappoint! I loved the romance in this book – it was perfect! Plus, Mihalik seamlessly weaves the romance, action, and plot together in an engaging story.

My one small issue with this book was how quickly it wrapped up the overarching series plot! The book is the last in the series, and I would have liked more time devoted to wrapping up the big plotlines at the end.

I’m so sad the Starlight’s Shadow series is ending, but I enjoyed every book and highly recommend it.

My review for Capture the Sun will be published closer to its publication on June 20, but in the meantime, check out my reviews of the first two books in the series:

In Which Matilda Halifax Learns the Value of Restraint by Alexandra Vasti (Halifax Hellions #2) 

In Which Matilda Halifax Learns the Value of Restraint by Alexandra Vasti

You are seriously missing out if you aren’t reading Alexandra Vasti’s free novellas from the Halifax Hellions series! These are fantastic historical romance stories, and I absolutely adored book two, In Which Matilda Halifax Learns the Value of Restraint.

Hello, Christian de Bord, my new romantic crush. The relationship between him a Matilda was *chef’s kiss*. This is another favorite book of the year. 

I devoured this novella and could seriously read a full-length story featuring these two! I am so excited for Alexandra Vasti’s debut novel coming in 2024, as I truly love her writing style and characters.

Check out my review for In Which Matilda Halifax Learns the Value of Restraint as well as the first book In Which Margo Halifax Earns Her Shocking Reputation!

Also, did I mention both these novellas are free? You just need to sign up for Alexandra’s newsletter on her website here: https://www.alexandravasti.com/

March 2023 Review

I’m still trying to get back in the regular swing of things with writing reviews. I unexpectedly took a full week off from reviewing during my sister’s bachelorette party, but honestly, I needed to.

Anyways, this month I wrote 5 reviews in April, including:

Hope you had a fantastic reading month in March! Any new favorites? 

Let me know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s